Ankylosing Spondylitis

My in-house Naturopath and I think that AS might be the reason for my on-and-off debilitating back pain.  It’s a type of arthritis that causes inflammation of the spinal joints, which can lead to severe chronic pain.  My symptoms check most of the diagnosis boxes, so I think this might be it.  Officially, I could consult my rheumatologist (which I don’t have) and get a blood test to look for the genetic marker HLA-B27.  But the marker alone does not constitute a diagnosis, there really isn’t a test for Ankylosing Spondylitis.  The shoe seems to fit, so I’ll limp along.

The treatment plan is as follows:

  • Get over it because chronic pain is not that serious, get a titanium wheelchair if I have to
  • Stop calling it “Ankle Spaghetti” and learn how to pronounce Ankylosing Spondylitis properly
  • Admit this might be worth treating, since I’m mostly disabled 20-25% of the time
  • Eat lots of Ginger (proteolytic enzyme zingibain) for its anti-inflammatory properties
  • Eat lots of Pineapple (proteolytic enzyme bromelain) for its anti-inflammatory properties
  • Get more calcium from green leafy vegetables
  • Follow a Vegetarian diet for health, longevity, weight loss, and to alleviate pain and inflammation
  • Hope my vertebrae don’t fuse together
Ankylosing Spondylitis

One thought on “Ankylosing Spondylitis

Comments are closed.