Bouldering Again

I’m back to climbing and my right ring finger is bleeding already.  I stopped bouldering at the end of 2013, $80/mo was entirely too much to spend on the membership and I had bills to pay.  After nine months of remembering dramatic dynos and embarrassing failures, I came to an important realization: I missed climbing.  My life was dreary and held no interest for me, let alone anyone else.  So I’d rather pay off my loans a month later than I’d hoped and make life worth living in the meantime.

So I re-joined EarthTreks last night.  I told the girl at the desk that I left because of the money and came back because I missed it.  She seemed to understand both reasons.

The gym was crowded and after an evening of falling onto the mats I sent two V3 problems and can feel the callouses forming already.  It will take some time to regain strength and get back to V4s and maybe V5s, but I’m excited about the road ahead.  It’s still expensive, but it’s quite nice to return to something I really enjoy.

Bouldering Again