Español

[It took me a while to figure out how to type the ˜ over the n]

As you may have already surmised, I’m trying to learn Spanish, not French.  And I built my own syllabus of free online coursework instead of spending all that time and money I don’t have on the Open University MSc program.  In short, my life plan hasn’t really changed, but it has adjusted.

Spanish is first since it seems to be the most applicable language in an International Development sense.  French would let me communicate with about 1/3 of Africa, some islands, and France.  Spanish opens up all of Central and about 1/2 of South America.  And Spain I guess.  But with any luck, I’ll learn French too.  And Arabic.  And Chinese.  Hindi.  Russian.

So far I’m moving right along with some Duolingo lessons (free language learning course), and I just finished reading “Fluent in 3 Months,” which discusses how to go about learning languages.

The goal is a B2 level of proficiency, which should be sufficient for communicating with almost anyone about almost anything in the target language.  C1 and C2 get into Mastery levels, which might be a bit ambitious for the foreseeable future.

Once I get a better handle on Spanish, I’ll get started on a long list of certification courses.  Everything from social work and construction to public health and teaching.  The reason behind this adjustment is that the MSc in Development Management seemed to lead to more of a policy-making and program-evaluating position.  Since that’s not really what I want to do right now, I thought a more on-the-ground-usefulness type of thing would be a better idea.

Español