Shantaram

…Is probably the best book I’ve read.  I just finished it an hour ago and it’s difficult to write this; I can’t summarize a 933 page novel in a satisfactory fashion.

I loved the feel of the story, it was so gripping and compelling and unfamiliar that it pulled me into the crime-ridden paradise of Bombay and wouldn’t release me until I was sufficiently enamored.  I’ve never read a book with more great sentences.  There were 10 or 15 times when I stopped and re-read a section to fully appreciate the wording.

Prisons are the temples where devils learn to prey.  Every time we turn the key we twist the knife of fate, because every time we cage a man we close him in with hate.

[More quotes here]

I cannot recommend Shantaram highly enough.  Read it if you aren’t afraid of long books.

Shantaram