Liebster Award

The talented Meg Writes Stuff nominated me for the prestigious Liebster Award.

liebster-award-rules

Without further ado, here are 11 fun facts about me:

  1. I took a few fencing classes in high-school.  One time, my opponent and I lunged simultaneously, I had the longer reach, and she ended up moderately injured after my foil bent in half against her chest.
  2. I once pedaled my road-bike downhill, with traffic, at over 47mph.
  3. I wrote a short novel, you should read it.
  4. Two of the scars on my right hand are from a surprisingly violent pillow fight at my cousin’s house.  Those metal zippers are no joke.
  5. I have never left the North American continent, but I desperately want to travel.
  6. My favorite movie is Fight Club.  It’s had the most impact on my world-view and philosophy.  I understand how worrisome that sounds.
  7. I changed my Business major to Criminology and Criminal Justice when I realized I couldn’t stand my Accounting, Economics, or Statistics classes.  With Winter and Summer classes, I still graduated on time (with exactly 120 credits.)
  8. I bouldered at a local rock-climbing gym last year.  My best accomplishments were a top-out V5 and a few tricky dyno V4s.  I miss climbing.
  9. My first car was stolen in college.  I walked outside on a Tuesday morning and it wasn’t where I left it.  So for eight months, I had to carry groceries back from the store every week.
  10. I once lost consciousness while sledding.  The tube slid downhill backwards and the back of my head smacked into a concrete wall I hadn’t seen coming.  No one checked on me, I staggered home with a concussion on the only snow-day that year.
  11. After 25 years I’m still not entirely sure what I want to do with what’s left of my life.

For my next trick, I’ll answer Meg’s 11 questions:

What kind of music do you like to listen to while writing, if any at all?

I usually don’t listen to music while I write, I tend to find it distracting.  However, I’m listening to Lorde’s Pure Heroine right now because it’s the best.

What is it about writing that keeps you going, even when you’re not sure you want to continue?

About halfway through the book, I didn’t want to do it anymore.  But I’d built these characters and the world they lived in, I felt I owed it to them to finish the story.  And I refused to be another person who wrote half of a novel.  Other times (when inspired) I’d furiously hammer the keys to get it all down before the plot-threads slipped from my clammy fingers.

Who is your favourite author?

George R.R. Martin.  The universe he’s created is the most complex I’ve encountered.  Also, he was the first writer I read who killed main characters.  I had never seen that before, in any media, and it changed my perspective on storytelling.

What genre do you read, but swear you’ll never write?

I’m afraid of writing Fantasy.  I don’t think I could keep everything straight with the magic, different races, and creatures.

What do you do when you tell yourself something along the lines of ‘I’ll only procrastinate a little bit longer’?

I usually cycle through Twitter, WordPress, and YouTube until sufficiently distracted.  But usually, I just get on with it so I can relax after the work’s been taken care of.

What brings you right into a writing mood, and how do you keep it that way?

I have to consume in order to create; could be a movie, TV show, or written word.  Talking about writing also helps, bouncing ideas off someone else to develop a point.  But I’m not very good at keeping it that way, I have to take notes right away and build from there when I can.

Favourite series, and favourite stand alone?

Harry Potter, I’ve read them many times.  Those seven books are responsible for making me a lifelong reader.

Pride and Prejudice, especially re-reading it after watching the Lizzie Bennet Diaries.  The social nuances and snarky sparring are like a window into another universe.

Have you ever seriously screwed up your sleeping schedule because of a book? Was it worth it, and what were you reading?

I don’t think so.  Unfortunately, I don’t get carried away with reading anymore, probably because I’m an old man who has to get up early for work.  If it ever does happen, I’ll most likely be reading the next installment of A Song of Ice and Fire.  In which case, it will absolutely be worth it.

What do you do to remember those ideas you come up with when you’re not able to write?

I write it down as soon as possible, sometimes mid-conversation.  On my phone usually, but if I have an idea when drifting off to sleep, I’ll get up, turn the light on, and scribble it on a notepad.

Are there any books or series that you thought were great, and then the ending just ruined everything for you?

I wasn’t thrilled with how The Great Gatsby ended, but it’s still a great story.  An opposite example would be Crime and Punishment, where more happened in the epilogue than the preceding 500 pages.  I still regret committing so much time to that one.

Why do you write?

Because I need to.  At this point, I don’t think I could stop writing if I wanted to.  It helps me process my life and think through difficult decisions.  It’s like I’m meeting someone new every time I write another short story.  I’d love to get paid for my efforts someday, but even if that never happens, I’ll keep writing because it’s what I’ve practiced the most.

Because while the truncheon may be used in lieu of conversation, words will always retain their power. Words offer the means to meaning, and for those who will listen, the enunciation of truth.

The rules state that I’m to nominate another 11 bloggers.  Unfortunately, I’m only connected with 2 bloggers with under 200 followers who weren’t mentioned in Meg’s original post.

If anything, this means I need to find some more WordPress Writers!

Liebster Award