Prudence

An opportunity might come my way.  One of the technicians at work recently sold his Miata to a parts guy, who in turn may be trying to sell it now.  It’s the cleanest 1991 NA Miata I’ve seen in the real world, with a new top and everything.  He’d probably try to sell it for around $1000 and I assume another $1000 to get it past state inspection.  For $2000 I could have a lightweight roadster driver’s car instead of my much heavier hatchback.

However, for the 427th time, I decided against the exciting desirable course of action, and elected to stay the course since my current car is more likely to keep working for another four years than a significantly older model.  Every time this comes up, I have to remind myself that while I want a Miata, I need a car that works reliably, not something that would be 26 years old when I’m hopefully out of student loan debt.  The reasonable, prudent, wise decision, would be to stick with what I’ve got.

Even though this one would be a brilliant buy, it’s still more of a “reckless want” instead of an “actual need.”  Also, I don’t have any money to invest in a project car.  I’m just trying to keep my eyes on the end-goal: Out of Debt…then maybe I could see about squandering some funds on a rusty car that desperately needs some love.

Prudence