Boneshaker

Yesterday, I finished reading Boneshaker.  It was one of the more interesting “stand-alone” books I’ve read recently.  Set during the US civil war time period, but in Seattle.  With noxious fumes, steampunk airships, and reanimated corpses.  I thought the book would fly apart at the seams utilizing so many themes and situations, but it held together and delivered.

Several times I stopped and re-read specific phrases, sentences, paragraphs, knowing that I would never have put the words like that, knowing that I couldn’t.  There were many things I liked about the book, including a few that I haven’t seen in too many other stories.

Briar Wilkes is the main protagonist at 35.  There is no “damsel in distress” and Briar herself is arguably the “knight in shining armour.”  It was great to see a female lead who wasn’t young.  At the end she makes no apologies to her son for her actions 16 years ago.  Briar does what she has to, and turns the tide within the walled-up city.

Boneshaker