NSA Articles

In the back of my mind, I’ve always known that the government sees everything.  Only today did I realize how pervasive the NSA actually is with its internet surveillance.

I read this article and its counterpart in the New York Times.  The article details how the NSA can and does go about tracking metadata, coercing hardware and software companies into building in backdoors, and generally keeping an eye on everyone.  This is concerning, unconstitutional, and should be illegal.

But this isn’t a rant post.  It was illuminating to learn that the government can get into my computer no matter what.  If I ran a very secure Linux distro with solid cryptography, anonymous internet access, and incredibly long passwords, it still wouldn’t matter.  $250M a year buys a lot of firepower.  If the NSA wants to get into your system, it’s in.

I don’t do anything too shady online, I’m just another 20-something aspiring writer.  Regardless, I don’t think this is right.  There are a few things you could do to help protect yourself, some of which are listed here.

NSA Articles