Intercooler

After I got back from climbing today, I spent 4.5 hours flushing the intercooler on my car.  To do so, I had to remove the radiator grille, front bumper, passenger headlight, and the intercooler itself, which was attached to two hoses and entirely too many bolts.

image

It was an arduous process.  I was out in the heat that entire time, and received many mosquito bites for my trouble.  In the end (read: almost halfway) I successfully pulled the intercooler from the warm embrace of the engine bay.

image

Some wiring, a sensor, and securing latch were nearly killed, but all lived to fight another day.  I’m sure some neighbors had a few questions about what I was doing on my Labor Day weekend, since all this was done in the neighborhood parking lot.

image

There was talk of vacations, BBQs, picnics, and relaxing.  Yet, here I was tearing my car in half and trying not to lose any bolts.

image

After a “close enough” cleaning, the intercooler was eventually reinstalled.  Although, if the intercooler hadn’t dried completely, I’d try to start the car, water would get into the engine, everything would break/explode, and I’d need a new car.  I prayed it was dry enough and hoped for the best.

image

I then had the privilege to reinstall the bumper, trim pieces, grille, and headlight.  I turned the key.  It didn’t explode.  A success as far as I’m concerned.  It was quite a day, I spent half of my Saturday and was offline so long I nearly had withdrawal symptoms.  But the mechanical system is now much cleaner, and more likely to keep running until I’m out of student loan debt.

Intercooler