Bad Bouldering

I didn’t climb last week since my back was broken.  This time, I woke up, took several Advil, and went anyway.  My right lower back and hip were exhibiting some nerve pain, and my left knee was swollen and exploding because that’s what it does.  Despite these difficulties, climbing wasn’t too terrible.  I didn’t want to do anything too high and risk falling a long way onto my unstable feet, so I tried to stay lower.

I was working on an overhang V4 when I must have hit something because my right index finger started bleeding from under the nail.  Which was distressing.  I put some chalk on it and gave it a few more tries.  Eventually I learned it was too painful to weight the finger, so I moved on.

Immediately after, I tried a V5 (because I never learn).  This time, my left ring finger was torn in half, separating the skin from a sizable area.  That one hurt.  So with every limb debilitated, I called it a day.

Bad Bouldering