Mileage Reimbursement

You may remember that I have bills to pay.  I budget really close to get out of debt as soon as possible and move on with my life.  Therefore, I never have any extra funds to spend at my discretion.  Until now.

To compensate me for 5.5 hours of sitting in traffic to attend the training class last week, I drove 275 miles and was reimbursed at $0.56 per mile.  I put that $155 to work.  The first order of business was of course, to buy some celebratory ice cream.  Secondly, I ordered some books I’ve had on my list for a while.  I pre-ordered the Hyperbole and a Half book, and bought three more about writing.  I sure hope this Writing thing works out since I now have some funds invested in its development.

Thirdly, I don’t know.  Because I so rarely have any money to spend, I don’t know what to do with it.  I’ll probably end up holding on to any excess or buying some car maintenance parts to save some more money.  I’m so used to being careful that my spending habits won’t change any time soon.  Sort of the opposite problem most people have I guess.

Mileage Reimbursement