Reading about Writing

I haven’t made any progress on my book in the past three days.  Partly because I don’t really feel like it right now.  I usually have that problem whenever I need to start a new chapter.  It’s hard to get something started from a blank page.  But mostly it’s because I’ve been sick for the past few days.  Probably Bird Flu, or Certain Death Disease.

This morning I read an article by Chuck Palahniuk about “thought” verbs.  Which put my writing in perspective.  I haven’t seen myself as a great writer (because…lets be honest here)  but this helped me realize how far there is to go.  I’ve heard that I need to tell the reader nothing, but show them everything.  I can’t figure out how to show a character’s thoughts though, that’s something I need to tell the reader.

That’s just one aspect that needs to change.  There are probably dozens of problems with my writing that merit adjustment.  Ah well, learn by doing I suppose.  I have to go to a work-training class Wed night to Thu night, but hopefully after that, I could get back to it and start the sixth chapter.

Reading about Writing