Melancholy Morning

There were eggs smashed all over my car last night.  I saw the shell fragments and sticky yolk on nearly every side of the car when I went to go bouldering this morning.  It should go without saying, but I was less than amused.

image

Thankfully it had rained last night as well, so that helped minimize the damage.  I hurriedly hosed the car off, which didn’t do that much good.  In the end it took me about 30min to rub most of the egg off the paint and windows with an old rag.  I don’t think it will ever be completely gone.

image

I was frustrated.  We live in a safe, quiet, suburban area full of middle class families.  The sort of place, I wouldn’t expect this to happen.  Of course, I’m forgetting that bored teenagers are out of school as well.

image

When I finally arrived at the climbing gym, I was able to find it in my heart to forgive the reckless hooligan who vandalized my most costly possession.  Honestly though, this offended me more than when my first car was stolen.  I can understand the various motives to steal a car, it makes a certain amount of sense despite how terrible it is.  (Let me tell you, having a car stolen is monumentally inconvenient.)  Vandalism makes no sense to me.  That’s why I found this more insulting.  There was no reason or gain to be had.  Just to make some victim’s morning tedious and distressing.

image

Obviously there are bigger problems in the world.  This could have been much worse.  At least they didn’t smash any windows or steal anything.  There was no permanent damage.  At the end of the day, it’s not the end of the world.  More of an inconvenience than a real problem.

But still…

Melancholy Morning