Approaching Normalcy

Despite my insubordinate GPS, I arrived at the house approximately on-time.  I walked through the already-open front door and was immediately met with a fish tank.  There was a large black recliner set up looking through the front windows, presumably to keep an eye on the shady neighbors.  The townhouse is formed by four small levels, with many stairs between.  Dark hardwood flooring met with dark painted walls for an impressively foreboding atmosphere.  Even though they had lived there for several months now, it was my first time visiting my friend’s place.

A few of us were there yesterday afternoon, just to hangout a bit as I’ve heard people do.  The gaming PC was hurriedly dusted out and setup on the kitchen table.  Columbian hotdogs were artfully prepared, and barbarously consumed.  I played CounterStrike for the first time, which reminded me why I don’t play FPS (hint: I die a lot).  We conversed about clothing, beards, 12 year old Scotch, custom gaming PCs, gun ownership, and differences between Islam and Christianity.

In case you hadn’t guessed, I don’t hangout with people too frequently.  I do what’s required of me, and try to hold up my end of the social contract.  Outside of that, I’m perfectly content being alone with the rest of the Internet.  As I was walking back to the car, I could almost see the {ACHIEVEMENT UNLOCKED: 10G- Attended Relaxed Hangout} notification hovering in front of me.  Now I might have to start referring to them as Friends instead of Acquaintances.

Approaching Normalcy