I’m No Designer

This time last week, I was thinking about making some t-shirt designs.  I figured it would be a good way to make some passive income and practice another creative pursuit.  I came up with a few design ideas, mostly text based, and started working on it.  I haven’t yet decided which site to post my new designs on, probably either Redbubble or Zazzle though.  Zazzle has more views/month, but Redbubble has much more impressive creative work.  I researched which designs are most popular right now, which sites charge more, what I should set my commission at, and how to setup and market an online shirt-store.

Then I figured I should actually make some designs.  Because I have bills to pay (see all previous posts) I use GIMP instead of Photoshop.  Actually, “use” is probably a strong word, more like, “I tried to use GIMP”.  Since most of my designs were text based, I figured it would be no problem.  I looked up several tutorials and lots of text-effect articles.  Either I’m an idiot (it’s possible), or graphic design of any sort is just terrible.

I could not get it to work properly.  How hard can it be to add text, get the sizing right, change the font around, and format the layers for exporting?  After a few hours I remembered why I decided against graphic design before: it’s too tedious.  It could have been the clunky software I was using, or the fact that I didn’t actually know what I was doing, but it was unreasonably difficult.  And most relevantly, I didn’t want to keep trying to figure it out.

I don’t thrive on challenge, but I don’t usually give up too fast either.  I’m also trying to learn jQuery now that my HTML/CSS course is over.  I still have some syntax issues with the coding, and don’t know much about that either.  However, I am willing to stick it out.  I can’t always think about something to write everyday either.  Lots of the time it doesn’t work out how I thought it should.  Anyway, graphic design is out (again).  I might try to get the hang of it later on if I need a logo or banner made, but it isn’t going to be what I do.  

All of the new pursuits I’m looking into and trying out are challenging to a point.  Some are easier than others, but I’m slowly learning what I don’t want to do.  Of course, I’m still trying to figure out what I do want to do, but one step at a time I suppose.

I’m No Designer