Bhutan

You guys remember that the plan for my life changes every few weeks right?  As I’ve mentioned before, I really want to travel and maybe expat and live somewhere else permanently.  Of course, something to consider with all this is visas, citizenship, climate, and cost of living.  Matador posted an article today about the 10 cheapest cities in the world.  It’s because of things like this that my life plans change so dramatically overnight.

After skimming the list and skipping all the bits about violent attacks, corruption, poverty, and instability, I think I’d like to go to Thimphu, Bhutan.  I hadn’t even heard of Bhutan before today, but after a few minutes of research, it sounds great.  The climate is agreeable since it’s in the mountains, cost of living is very low, and they plan to be the first country to go completely organic.  Sounds good to me.

There are more things to consider though, such as the fact that I don’t speak the language, may have difficulty getting a job, and I have no idea what their visa or citizenship difficulties would be.  I’ll try and hold myself back from going too far though, since my plans will probably just change again in another few weeks.  I would like to trek the Himalayas and live a fulfilling life in the country that coined the term “Gross National Happiness” though, so we’ll see.

Bhutan