Fast & Furious 6

Disclaimer: I know that on the whole, the Fast and Furious movies are not that great.  They’re unrealistic, immature, and ridiculous.  Lets go ahead and put that all behind us for now.

I finally got around to seeing Fast & Furious 6 yesterday.  At this point, I am committed to the franchise, so it’s not like I’m going to miss one.  If I’m honest, I like these movies.  I’m a bit into cars and there aren’t any other car movies out there.  Top Gear UK makes for a great car show, but it’s still not a movie.  If you haven’t seen it by now, I assume it’s not really your thing anyway, moving along.

One of the beliefs I hold is that I can learn something from everyone and everything.  One of the concepts that Fast 6 reiterated to me throughout the film was the irrelevance of monetary success when compared to family and loved ones.  After becoming exceedingly wealthy after the events in Fast 5, the team all buys supercars and retires to various islands around the world.  Life is good, they can do almost whatever they want since they’re all millionaires in non-extradition countries.  But none of that really matters though, in the end it’s not what you have it’s who you have.

Brian and Mia, Dom and Letty, Han and Gisele.  Each of these couples had been through their own difficulties over the course of the film.  Letty shot Dom in the chest, Gisele sacrificed herself to save Han, and everyone almost died several times.  Yes of course “It’s a movie” but the idea is sound.  When Dom called the team all over the world, everyone dropped what they were doing, turned the jet around, and came to help him save Letty.  There was no negotiating, pleading, guilt-tripping, or pestering.  Their material success was meaningless compared to helping an old friend.  It wasn’t even a question.

Of course I’ve heard this concept before, that money can’t buy happiness, and people matter the most.  I just never really agreed with it because, well, I have bills to pay.  But the scene at the end, when they all meet back in Los Angeles for a backyard BBQ (with $1M worth of cars parked in the street), that’s what matters.  It’s the relationships, not the money.  Freedom to spend life with the people we choose to surround ourselves with is the most valuable commodity.

Currently, I don’t have anyone I’d consider to be a friend (not whining, just stating the facts).  And I’m not a millionaire (yet).  But perhaps, while straining to get out of this indentured servitude I find myself in, I could invest more in forging relationships, since I’ve heard that’s more important anyway.

Fast & Furious 6