Rehearsal Dinner

Last night, extended family members from all over the east coast got into town for a “wedding.”  The reason for the quotes is my cousin eloped and then came back a year and a half later saying “I’m engaged!  And by ‘engaged’ I really mean ‘married for the last while.’”  My grandma nearly had a heart attack.  So here we all are for the festivities and vow ceremony, which is very close to their second anniversary.

We had a crowded dinner with around 30 of my closest cousins, aunts, uncles, and other ancillary relatives.  I was impressed that we didn’t run out of beer or wine, which was convenient.  I talked with my cousin who is a little bit older than me.  He had just returned from five months in Hawaii for work.  He does some sort of engineering for the military in some capacity and makes twice my salary while travelling the world.  When he said that Hawaii isn’t great after the first two months, and that he went skydiving while he was there, I looked upon my life in disappointment.  I’m glad things are going well for him (I really am), but perhaps I should have gone after a more lucrative field.  If I had stuck with my Business major, or changed to engineering, my life might make more sense now.  Instead, I got a degree in Criminal Justice only to decide that I didn’t want to be a cop.  So here we are.  At times, it does feel like relatives and peers are only there to achieve more, and I’m there to help them feel better about their lives.

Rehearsal Dinner