Gumball 3000

The Gumball 3000 Rally is now underway.  100 cars will drive from Copenhagen to Monte Carlo over the next week, partying the entire time.  I’ve wanted to participate in the Gumball for years now, but there are a few criteria holding me back.  First of course, is the fact I have bills to pay.  Second, the entry fee is £30,000 which is substantial.  Third, I’d need a supercar to drive which would cost at least another $200,000.  But most of all, I’m not really that interested.  

As I look through their itinerary I can’t help but notice a lot of concerts and parties.  They don’t have any Firefly or Doctor Who marathons organized throughout Europe or anything!  It seems to be made for A-listers who don’t need to fret about the cost.  Perhaps that’s why there isn’t a Registration section, but an Application section.  Not just anyone can participate, even if you do have the money to burn.  Even though the fastest speeding ticket ever given was during another Gumball rally (Koenigsegg CC8S at 242mph in a 75mph zone) there’s got to be a better option.

Which brings me to what I really want to do: The Mongol Rally.  10,000 miles from London to Mongolia, unsupported, with no set route.  And you can only drive a terrible, underpowered car that would fall apart on the road, let alone in the Mongolian steppe.  Now that’s an adventure.  The entry fee is only £980 instead of £30,000.  And while that doesn’t include the car, supplies, flights, food, or anything else, it’s a massive savings.  The convincing factor is in the warning.  It reads “…your chances of being seriously injured or dying as a result of taking part are high.”  

Tell me that doesn’t sound more exciting than the Gumball.

Gumball 3000