Write to Forget

When I need to work through something or get over a troublesome experience, I find that it’s best to write about it.  Organizing my thoughts and typing them out is like drawing poison from the wound.  Once the situation is written out in front of me, I can see it all clearly, without (as much) perspective slant.  Instead of a vague, all-encompassing problem, it’s focused and not as dramatic.  There are some topics and occurrences that I won’t write about though.  If it’s not my story to tell, or would come back at me somehow, I won’t run the risk of rousing any ire against me.  And I don’t want to sound like I’m whining all the time either.

I’ve recently found that writing is a convenient release valve.  Throughout the day, my mind accumulates ideas that bounce around and raise my stress level.  By posting about it, I can let these thoughts go, and keep them from building up and suffocating me.  Once I take action on something, even just writing about it, I have real difficulty remembering it.  It’s as if that subject matter is now in the past and I sub-consciously know that I don’t need to concern myself with it anymore.

It’s not that I can write every day, or that I’ve learned to write every day; at this point, it’s almost like I have to write every day.  I see it like keeping up with social media and the internet, something I have to do, that balances my mind and lets everything else work.

Some people write to remember, I write to forget.

Write to Forget