Television as a Sedative

I’m usually very busy on the weekend.  I wake up at 5:25 to cut my hair and read some of the two books I’m working on now.  I catch up with the internet, write a little, and eat a quick breakfast before leaving at 8:30 to go climbing.  When I get back, I do some online coursework and financial planning.  Laundry and other housework has to get done, as well as anything with the car.  There are weekends when I might only relax for about an hour.

That was not the case this past weekend, it was much slower.  The basics were all the same, but overall, I had much more time to chill this past weekend.  I was able to watch more Top Gear and Initial D, since the internet is practically closed on Sundays.  Last night, after a few hours of Netflix I found myself exceedingly lethargic.  It was only 8:30 and I was actually tired.  I was in such a deep torpor that I just couldn’t be bothered to do anything beyond click on “next episode.”

This rather embarrassing state reminded me of when I’d watch lots of TV in college.  I’d get my dinner from the Diner and sit at my desk eating terrible pizza and watching hour after hour of TV.  The episodes would all start to run together, and I couldn’t remember specific details of what I’d just seen.  Because it’s been so long since I’ve watched more than two hours of TV straight-through, I wasn’t expecting these effects.

It’s almost as if too much TV at once acts like a sedative.  I’ve read about how entire muscle groups shutdown when you sit for too long, and how staring glassy-eyed at the flickering laptop screen isn’t the best life-choice in any sense.  That said, it was refreshing to just relax and not stress about my future plans, loan payments, or anything else.  I don’t regret getting all the important work done and then writing-off a few hours to do nothing.  In the future though, perhaps some moderation would be best.  Less anxiety over things I can’t change right now, and less psychological decay as an escape.

Television as a Sedative