Climbing Competition

I went climbing again today, as I do most Saturdays to make the membership worth it.  Upon arriving to an overflowing parking lot, I was made aware that there was a competition going on.  Thankfully, only half of the bouldering area was closed, so I could tear my hands to pieces while embarrassing myself as usual.

The youth competition going on was impressive.  These kids are no joke.  They were doing sport climbing and speed climbing on routes I wouldn’t even attempt.

image

image

(Photo Credit: Earthtreks Instagram)

I was only able to get a V3 (and most of another V3), so not an overwhelmingly successful day.  After my hands were thoroughly red and burning, I decided to leave with what dignity I had left.  On the way back, I stopped and bought a 20 pound bag of rice to start working on these exercises.  After a few minutes of strenuous effort, my hands were bleeding a little, and looked like this:

image

So that’s going well.

Climbing Competition