Scared of Commitment

Well not really.  I just always like to have an exit if I need it.  I don’t even like using stickers because I’m afraid of that commitment.  Once that goes on the car there’s no (easy) way to get it back off.  I’ve scrolled through so many pages of auto decals, chosen a few, and then not ordered them because “what if I change my mind?”

I put this skin on my laptop as soon as I got it though.  I knew that if I gave myself any time to think about it, or get used to the laptop without it, I wouldn’t go through with it.  Three years later and I still think I made the right decision.  So it isn’t really the commitment aspect that I have a problem with, it’s just my tendency to over-analyze.

Given that I don’t want to commit to a bumper sticker, it’s strange that I’m considering getting a tattoo.  I’ve vaguely wanted a tattoo ever since my grandpa told me not to get one when I was a kid.  I just couldn’t think of what I would want to get.  So after some consideration, I decided on “C’est la Vie” on my right forearm.  But now that I’ve thought about it some more, I’m not so sure.  I read that text doesn’t work that well as a tattoo, since my skin isn’t pure white and absolutely flat.  That was enough to cast some doubt on my decision.

Now I’m thinking that I’ll get either 3, 5, or 7 birds on my right forearm instead.  Birds would be a particularly convenient tattoo since it’s less cavalier than the text I was considering and could mean something different to each person that asked.  Since I don’t think I’ll be joining the military or anything, I’ll just wear long-sleeved shirts to work, and there will be no problems (hopefully).

Scared of Commitment