Diverse Certifications

As you may remember, I’m looking into going after more technical knowledge.  There’s a long way to go, but I have a basic plan/syllabus to follow.  First, I think I’ll complete the Webmaking 101 challenge set offered by Mozilla.  After this HTML refresher, I’ll look into HTML5 a bit.  Then we’ll move on to Codecademy for PHP, jQuery, JavaScript, Python, Ruby, and APIs.  Next, on to actual Computer Science courses offered by Udacity.  Here I’ll get a handle on some of the CS basics, Java, Program Design, and Cryptography.  All of these courses are free.

Finally I plan to foray into the certification world.  I plan on eventually building a computer anyway, so hopefully that can go hand in hand with an A+ certification from CompTIA.  Depending on how things look at that point, maybe I’ll even go for the Network and Security certifications.

Even as I write this, it feels ambitious.  But considering that I’m on my computer whenever I can, I should probably learn a bit more about how all this works.  I have also noticed that it helps to have a diverse set of certifications and experience.  I already have a basic TEFL certificate, just in case I wake up in China someday, I could teach English there (poorly, I’m sure).  As I learned from Training Day, “It’s not what you know, it’s what you can prove.”  This is where degrees and certifications come into play.  I can’t just say “I write a blog and edited some of the HTML there so I’m definitely qualified.”  If I have a list of tests I’ve passed and a stack of certificates, that carries a bit more weight (even if I don’t know what I’m doing).

Diverse Certifications