I’m No Masochist

Which might explain my adversarial relationship with Nature.  I’ve disliked nature for a while now, but over the last few days, my opinion was solidified.  I really don’t do well in the heat, I break out in hives, get all itchy, it’s terrible.  I also have seasonal allergy issues that somehow last for the entire Not-Winter season.  If I stand still outside for any more than 10 seconds when it’s hot, I will get at least one bug bite.  I don’t know how this happens, but it is the inconvenient truth.  Nature is out to kill me.

On a related note, I don’t really understand the draw of nature.  People (who presumably don’t have allergies) get so excited about Spring and love going outside just for the sake of being outside.  Some folks like to work outside and take walks just because they don’t have to put a jacket on to do so.  I simply do not understand the appeal.  I sometimes like to look outside at the majesty of nature on the other side of the glass, but not to actually experience it.

The noisy animals, pestering bugs, bio-hazard pollen, and suffocating heat does not do it for me.  Nature means no peace and quiet.  Which is why I’m thinking that I would do better in a bigger city, perhaps Seattle.  With the temperate climate and steady rains, I think we’d get along very well.  They might make me start drinking Starbucks Coffee and listening to Indie bands, but I could live with that.  Although, that may just be trading one set of problems for another.  Something to consider though.

I’m No Masochist