Unidimensional Personality

We’re all much more complex than our acquaintances realize.  It’s easier for our simple interactions to define people just as a painter, scientist, or manager.  We don’t really need to know most of the folks we come in contact with.  So for the purposes of these mere acquaintances, a unidimensional perspective works just fine.

It’s similar to the blind men describing the elephant.  Each had their own experience and perspective, and each was correct, albeit incomplete.  There are people I know that think I’m into cars.  While that is true, it isn’t the only thing I’m into.  Computers, gaming, internet, church, rock climbing, reading, and writing are similar.  While each of these is a pursuit I’m interested in, none of them really encompass the whole of my character.

I’m sure it’s the same for all of us.  We all have diverse interests that extend far beyond what any single individual knows about us.  I don’t discuss cars with the same people I talk about anime with.  I don’t go on about something I read on twitter to the people I climb with.  This is presumably why it’s important for us to have a more diverse set of friends/contacts, so that we can be our complete selves, even if no one group is ready for everything we’re interested in.  So don’t hide who you are, even if each person only accepts one facet of your character.

Unidimensional Personality