All the cool things are illegal

My plans and goals usually seem like the most rewarding and viable aspirations for about 24-48 hours.  After that, I become less interested and nothing actually changes.  So give it another few days and we’ll see if this one is any different.  Hacking seems cool, but (like most cool things) it tends to be illegal.  As such, White Hat Hacking would be the way to go.  I have some ethics, all I need now is to learn…everything.  I used to do some tech support but I wouldn’t really say that I know a lot about computers.  I like to think that I know enough to avoid breaking things and not get myself into too much trouble, which surely is half the battle.

I’ve got a long way to go though.  I figure I should have a solid grasp on: C, Java, CoffeeScript, and JavaScript since lots of other languages seem to be based on these.  I’ll also need more experience with Windows, Mac OS, Linux, and UNIX.  An A+ certification would be a good start, and an N+ certification would be a good continuation.  Then, after years of training, maybe I could become a Certified Ethical Hacker and specialize from there.

This looks fairly ambitious, especially considering that I don’t actually know any of these right now.  The most complicated technical things I’ve done are replace some RAM, and a bit of soldering.  Conveniently, I hope to learn most of the basics online (for free) and we’ll see how it goes.  At the very least, I’d diversify my experience and that might facilitate my continued employment.

All the cool things are illegal