Give Because it Hurts

I am not a giving person.  But, hopefully I’m not selfish all the time.  Over the years I’ve done a few service projects.  I once volunteered at an orphanage in Kingston, Jamaica and also helped build houses in New Orleans, Louisiana after hurricane Katrina.  I tend to do best with singular large efforts, it’s the ongoing day to day giving that I find particularly difficult.

My family has been packing boxes with food at Manna Food Center once a month for years now.  We meet up with 12-15 other strangers and pack lots of donated and government packaged foodstuffs into family-sized boxes.  We then seal and stack the boxes onto warehouse pallets.  Which are then distributed to the needy in the community.  Initially, it was a convenient way for me to get my required community service hours, especially since it is indoors.  Now that this service doesn’t benefit me in any tangible way, I am less motivated to sacrifice two hours of my life.

Each time, I really don’t want to go.  I have things to do, articles to read, posts to write, TV to watch, YouTube to catch up with, and so many other activities that absolutely need to happen.  I’ve mentioned before how I have too much to do and never enough time in which to do it.  It’s usually at this point in my thought process, when I’m mired in a bog of first world problems that I have a realization: Am I too caught up with my entertainment needs to give just two hours of my time, once a month to help those in need?  I never really want to go, but afterwards, I’m glad I did.  At about that time I remember why I still volunteer on occasion.  Service helps give me perspective, it costs me so little but can help others so much more.  And of course, if my creditors ever catch up with me and rob me blind, I’d appreciate it if someone else would help me out.

Give Because it Hurts