Consume to Create

I read all the time, but mostly just fantasy or science fiction.  Non-Fiction has its place too I suppose, but it just doesn’t interest me enough.  I’ve heard that in order to develop as a photographer, you should look at lots of photographs and take as many as you can.  To grow as a film producer or director, it’s important to watch a lot of movies.  Similarly, to progress as a writer, it’s crucial that I read as much and as widely as possible.  So while I read a lot, I notice that I tend to only read Fantasy books.  Yesterday I thought that I should do something to rectify that.

This is one of the most comprehensive 100 Best Books of all time lists.  There are lots of similar lists, but this one seemed promising.  Looking at it, I’ve already read some of them, but I’ll work my way though nonetheless.  Hopefully, this will get me to read not just some of the best books ever written, but also a wider range of material than I would of my own volition.  Of course, this will take me a few years at least, but it should be rewarding.  I look forward to expanding my horizons and improving my perspective.

Consume to Create