Creative Career

I watched this video today and it was very helpful in the sense that it re-affirmed my decision to write something every day.  He discusses the idea of a Creative Career and how the “Creating” aspect is very different from the “How do I actually pay rent?” concern.  Now, I’m a strong believer in the ‘learn by doing’ school of thought.  This has worked well in my jobs and pursuits thus far.  I know that I can learn many things relatively quickly, but until I actually put that into practice and see how it goes, in what sense do I actually know what I’m doing?

I was entertaining the idea of becoming a film producer someday, but that might be a bit further off.  I have also considered taking Photography more seriously as well.  Now, I’m leaning toward Writing as a more creative pursuit, since it doesn’t require thousands of dollars of investment (yet) and is something I can practice right now.  The video I saw today really stressed the idea that if you want to do something, do it.  Don’t wait for tomorrow, do it right now.  I will probably repeat myself with this a lot, but that’s what I’m trying to do here and now.  I’m planning on writing something original, honest, and hopefully substantial every day.  I have many other things to do though, so the posts may not be the most polished, but that’s what I’m practicing for in the first place.

Don Draper once said “pick a job and become the person who does it.”  I wonder now though if it might be more fulfilling to “do what you want and find a way to get paid for it.” 

Creative Career