The Lizzie Bennet Diaries

I had to read Pride and Prejudice in high-school and I didn’t take it all that seriously.  I think that’s the problem with having high-schoolers read otherwise impressive books, they’re just not interested if it’s something they’re forced to read.  I actually don’t like the classics much anyway…  Back to the point though, my opinion of Pride and Prejudice in 12th grade was “They’re all just a bunch of gold-diggers.”  I’m not proud of my immature and chauvinistic opinion, but rest assured, it has changed over the years.

The Lizzie Bennet Diaries web-series was (so far as I know) the first web-based adaptation ever done.  I stayed caught up with the show as each episode was released over the past year or so and just rewatched all 100 episodes in 7.5 hours this weekend.  Which should tell you how socially involved I am.  After watching though (twice) the characters meant so much more to me. No longer were they just whiny young women trying to grab a rich husband.  Each of the Bennet sisters in particular had their own complex and compelling story covering a vast array of emotions.  To watch each of the characters develop over the course of the book/show into someone completely different at the end was incredible.  The format really worked for me and the actors/actresses are all amazing.  I might have teared up a bit, but that was probably just my allergies.  I cannot recommend it enough, if you’re into the story you have to give it a shot.

Another aspect of the show that I appreciated was how the production team had twitter and YouTube accounts for each of the main characters.  It was as if these were actual people going through the story in real time, going back and forth on twitter and posting their own videos.  There were so many people in the YouTube comments section trying to tell Lydia to stay away from George.  Thankfully someone replied to remind them that “You know this is a show right?  It’s based on a book…”

I didn’t mean for this to turn into a review.  It just goes to show that my impression of the story as required reading in 12th grade changed drastically as a webshow adaptation six years later.  It also goes to show that Me-From-The-Past was a bit of an idiot.

The Lizzie Bennet Diaries