10,000 hours to go

I read this article on Cracked this morning, and it got me thinking about what exactly I’m qualified to do.  What useful, helpful, verifiable, and marketable skills do I currently possess?  And I couldn’t think of too many. We’ve heard that with 10,000 hours of practice, you can become an expert in that field.  At one hour a day, that would take 27 years.  Two hours a day would be only 14 years.  That’s a very long time, but I guess it has to be.  To be considered an Expert, I would need lots of experience and practice, not the sort of thing that can be rushed.

Right now, I have a few certifications for work and relatively little experience in the full-time working world.  Looking back at it now, the only thing I’ve done for 10,000 hours would be school, which (annoyingly) doesn’t apply to anything in particular.  Although, the willingness and ability to learn and apply new information is relevant to everything really.  It’s similar to punctuality, professionalism, diligence, responsibility, and having a strong work ethic.  Completely irrelevant to anything specific, but still important in every other sense.

While I may not have a Top Secret clearance, 20 years of impressive work experience, and all the right connections, I like to think that I’m still a good worker.  Specific credentials are great for building up a resume, but the all-encompassing albeit vague qualifications seem to mean more overall.  If I were to justify investing 10,000 hours of my life into honing a specific skill-set, it would either have to be something that I very much want to do, or pay me lots of money, preferably both.  I guess that’s the question, what do I want to do badly enough to really commit my life to?

10,000 hours to go