Ain’t nobody got time for that

I constantly feel like I have too much to do.  In college, old people would tell me to take advantage of all the free time I had, because once I graduate, it will all be gone.  I’d hear this and try not to openly call them crazy.  ”I have to deal with six classes, all the related assignments and assessments, I work 20 hours a week, have to take the bus everywhere because my car was stolen, in addition to all the other small things that come up.”  I’d then go on to say that once I graduated, I’d only have one job and no classes at all.  Obviously I’ll have more time once I’m out.

How wrong I was.  What I hadn’t considered is that half the time I was in class, I was reading Hyperbole and a Half, checking Twitter and Facebook, or just perusing the internet.  Almost all of the time at work, I could get classwork done and watch TV.  Now that I have to actually work all day, I have a lot less free time.  I get back from work now and have four hours to get everything done which just isn’t enough time.

It’s at times like this that I try to cut things out of my life so that I could have more time for what matters most.  Instead of leaving Twitter or Facebook altogether, I look at who I’m following and whose posts appear on my newsfeed and ask myself: “Are they really that important/funny?”  If I could live without their posts, then they might not show up on my feed anymore.

So why is it that I always add something new?  I joined Tumblr, saw that it was more of a community than WordPress and thought: Oh no, ain’t nobody got time for that.  Doctor Who and Game of Thrones came back this weekend, but I’m already watching two shows in addition to all the YouTube channels I’m subscribed to…  I’m currently reading four books while trying to read everything on Twitter, Facebook, and Tumblr…

Wait a minute, what am I saying?  Here I am going on about how there’s simply too much free entertainment in my life that I can’t possibly keep up.  I only work 40-ish hours/week, there are lots of people that have to do much more.  So while I don’t have as much free time as I did in college, I probably have more right now than I will later on in life.

Ain’t nobody got time for that