the focus

Bad news internet, I may be losing sight of my goal after only a few short months.  I still very much want to travel and eventually just keep traveling, but I’m getting caught up with more pressing concerns.  For example, I need to buy a replacement car (I’d say “new car” but lets be honest here).  I currently drive a 1991 Honda Civic hatchback, and while it is very efficient, it is so thoroughly rusted that whenever I make a quick turn like the racing driver I am there is more than a modicum of concern that the entire back half of the car will collapse and fall off the frame in a pile of rusty disappointment.  So there’s that.  Also I need to move out of my parents house as soon as feasible, but that would obviously cost more as well, which would set me back even further with paying off my student loan debts as soon as possible.  Decisions, decisions.  Anyway, the real crux of the issue is that I really want a track car.  Something a bit older that I can build up into a respectably fast racing machine.  However, as you may have surmised, this is usually ruinously expensive.  Auto racing is up there with yachting and compulsive gambling as far as costs are concerned.  So at some point, probably many years from now once I have finally bought my way out of the indentured servitude that is my student loan debt, I will have to decide if I want to travel or build up a track car.  This may not be a mutually exclusive decision, but one would definitely impact the likelihood of the other taking place anytime soon.  That said, travelling the world would obviously be the better choice from a big-picture point of view, so I like to think that I will decide to stick with my original (read: brilliant) plan when the time comes.

the focus

Leave a Reply

